Committee Chairman

Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at .
The University of Pittsburgh has finally announced that they will finally be creating an athletic Hall of Fame that will honor their past athletic heroes.

The University will be allowing online submissions that can be accepted until March 31. A 19 member Hall of Fame selection has also been created.

While we don’t know who will be entering the Pitt Hall of Fame at this time we know two things for sure:

To qualify, an athlete has to be five years removed from their last season in college and if they are in an athletic career where they could turn professional, they cannot be currently active.

We also know that the inaugural class will be inducted on September 7.

We guess we another thing…we will be paying attention!
Shortly the Baseball Hall of Fame will be announcing who will be inducted into Cooperstown and former Pitcher Johan Santana is on the ballot. While it is uncertain as to whether Santana will receive the necessary votes to make the Hall (or even the 5% to make the next ballot due to the plethora of names who are eligible to vote for) he will be enshrined for sure into the Minnesota Twins Hall of Fame.

The Venezuelan arrived to Minnesota via trade from the Florida Marlins on a 1999 Rule 5 draft swap for Jared Camp. It is easy to see who won this deal isn’t it?   Santana made the Twins roster in 2000 and he bounced back and forth between long relief and spot starting but in 2003 he began to put it altogether and won a permanent spot in the rotation becoming one of the better hurlers in the last half of the season and he helped the team make the playoffs that year.

Johan Santana had arrived and in 2004 and he would begin a four year run as the most dominating pitcher in the American League. The flamethrower would go 20-6 while leading the AL in ERA, Strikeouts, FIP, WHIP and SO/BB and would win the CY Young Award. 2005 would not be a Cy Young winning one, but he was 3rd in voting and finished first in Strikeouts, FIP, WHIP and SO/BB. He would again reclaim the Cy Young in 2006 while again taking the ERA, Strikeouts, FIP, WHIP and SO/BB Title. This would also see Santana finish first in Wins for the first and only time in his career. 2007 was a “down” year where he only finished 5th in Cy Young voting.

Santana was traded to the New York Mets in the off-season.

Johan Santana’s overall numbers with Minnesota are 93 Wins against 44 Losses with 1,381 Strikeouts with a 3.22 Earned Run Average.

We here at would like to congratulate Johan Santana on earning this prestigious honor.
As we slowly work on the greatest 50 players of every major franchise of the big four of North American sports we will eventually look at how each of those teams honor those who played for them in the past. As such it is newsworthy to us that the Philadelphia Flyers retired the number 88 of Eric Lindros.

Lindros was drafted first overall by the Quebec Nordiques in 1991 and famously refused to report to the team. He sat out a year and was traded to the Flyers in a megadeal and he would immediately become the face of the franchise. A power forward in every sense of the word, Lindros’ imposing size was complimented with finesse skills. In the 1994-95 strike shortened season, Lindros was named the Hart Trophy winner while also earning First Team All Star Honors. The following season Lindros had a career high 115 Points and was named a Second Team All Star. In 1997, he led the Flyers to a Stanley Cup Final and was the playoffs leading scorer, though the team went down to defeat to the Detroit Red Wings.

As big and as powerful as Lindros was, his style of play made him injury prone and more specifically he began to get concussed often. He also suffered a collapsed lung, which was followed by a team edict for him to fly back to Philadelphia (this occurred in Nashville). He didn’t, and had he done so he would have likely died in the plane.

The injuries led to a public battle between Lindros and Flyers management, namely GM Bobby Clarke who questioned his star’s toughness. During the 2000-01 season, Lindros was cleared to return but refused to report and would sit out the remainder of the season. He would later be dealt to the New York Rangers but to say that the parting between the Flyers and Lindros was smooth would be an inaccurate one. Number 88 would play five more years in the NHL with New York, Toronto and the Dallas Stars before retiring.

Bridges were seemingly burned but Lindros would play in the Alumni Game at the 2012 Winter Classic at the request of GM, Paul Holmgren. Lindros would later be inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2016 and this was mostly due to his work as a Philadelphia Flyer.

As a Flyer, Lindros was a six time All Star and he scored 659 Points over 486 Games, an incredible 1.36 Points per Game Average.

Lindros becomes the sixth player to have his number retired by the Flyers. He joins Bernie Parent (1), Mark Howe (2), Barry Ashbee (4), Bobby Clarke (7) and Bill Barber (16).

We here at would like to congratulate Eric Lindros for achieving this latest honor.
The Canadian Music Hall of Fame has announced that Barenaked Ladies will become the next members.

Barenaked Ladies formed in Scarborough, Ontario in 1988 and quickly developed a cult following in the Toronto area. The group didn’t sound like anyone else as not only were they quirky they sang about topics that hadn’t been dealt with and did so in a fun way. It wasn’t long before they had a major record deal and they became national sensations with songs like “If I Had a Million Dollars” and “Be My Yoko Ono” receiving national airplay.

By the late 90’s, the Ladies were not just Canadian sensations but international ones. Their single “One Week” went number one in the United States and they had other major smashes such as “It’s All Been Done” and “Pinch Me”.

As their style became more sophisticated they still maintained their uniqueness and distinct style.

What is very significant about this induction is that when it takes place at the Juno Awards this March it will be the first tie Steven Page, who acrimoniously left the group in 2009 will be with them.

We here at would like to congratulate Barenaked Ladies for earning this prestigious honor.